Public vs. Private Investing

There are certain differences between investing in the private markets versus the public markets. Pinnacle Wealth Brokers Inc. (Pinnacle) believes investors should include both private and public market securities in their investment portfolios as part of a diversification strategy provided they are suitable investments.

Generally, diversifying an investment portfolio across public and private markets creates resiliency within a portfolio by, among other things, withstanding the full impact of market corrections and reducing concentration risk, which are prudent when constructing a long-term investment portfolio.

Why invest in the Private Markets?

Generally, people invest in the private markets since there is an expectation of potential higher returns relative to traditional public markets investment. This is called the risk/reward trade-off which is the relationship between the amount of return gained on an investment and the amount of risk undertaken in that investment. The greater the return sought, the more the risk that an investor assumes. “Risk” means the risk of losing the principal amount of one’s investment, in whole or in part. For those investors that have a risk profile that supports investing in high risk investments, the private markets represent an opportunity for greater returns; but it is not for everyone.

Difference Between Reporting Issuers versus a Private Issuer [Non-Reporting Issuer]

In legal jargon, public companies are called “reporting issuers” whose securities generally trade on a stock exchange, such as the Toronto Stock Exchange. They are called “reporting issuers” since, among other things, they:

  • have to file a prospectus that is reviewed and receipted (a preliminary and final prospectus) by the applicable securities commissions; and
  • are subject to a continuous disclosure regime that requires them to make various public filings, such as annual and interim financial statements, management information circulars for special and general meetings and material change reports.

An investor can find a reporting issuer’s publicly available information on a website maintained by the Canadian Securities Administrators called SEDAR at: https://www.sedar.com (SEDAR).

In contrast, a “private issuer” (i.e., a non-reporting issuer) generally has less disclosure about the company’s business and affairs and its securities do not trade on a stock exchange. Although a private issuer does not file a prospectus with a securities commission, issuers selling securities under the offering memorandum (OM) exemption (the OM Exemption) (an exemption from the prospectus requirement under securities law) have to complete a prescribed form of offering document which is filed [but not reviewed or receipted] by a securities commission. However, securities commission may review and comment on an offering memorandum after it is filed as part of its continuous review of a private issuer’s offering documents. Only recently, have offering memoranda sold under the OM Exemption been made available on SEDAR which can be searched for such documents as well as any related OM marketing materials.

Conclusion

We hope this brief comparison helps you better understand certain differences between the private and public markets. Pinnacle is different than investment dealers since our primary focus is on private market investments, however, we have referral agreements in place with certain portfolio managers that can provide you with access to public market securities. Feel free to contact your Pinnacle Dealing Representative for more information.

Placements privés vs placements publics

Placements privés vs placements publics

En termes de placements, il existe certaines différences entre le marché privé et le marché public. Pinnacle Wealth Brokers Inc. (Pinnacle) estime que les investisseurs devraient inclure des titres des marchés privés et publics dans leurs portefeuilles de placement dans le cadre d'une stratégie de diversification, à condition qu'il s'agisse d'investissements appropriés.

En règle générale, la diversification d'un portefeuille de placements au sein des marchés privé et public crée une résilience du portefeuille, notamment en faisant face aux corrections de marché et en réduisant le risque de concentration, ce qui est prudent dans la construction d'un portefeuille de placements à long terme.

Pourquoi investir sur le marché privé?

De façon générale, les gens investissent sur le marché privé car on s'attend à ce que cette option apporte des rendements potentiellement plus élevés par rapport aux investissements sur les marchés publics traditionnels. C'est ce qu'on appelle le compromis risque/bénéfice, qui est la relation entre le montant de rendement obtenu sur un investissement et le montant de risque encouru dans cet investissement. Plus le rendement recherché est élevé, plus le risque assumé par un investisseur est grand. Le terme «risque» désigne le risque de perte totale ou partielle du capital de votre investissement. Le marché privé représente une occasion d’obtenir des rendements supérieurs aux yeux des investisseurs dont le profil de risque est favorable à des investissements à haut risque; mais cette option ne s’adresse pas à tous.

La différence entre les émetteurs assujettis et les émetteurs privés [émetteurs non assujettis]

Dans le jargon juridique, les sociétés publiques sont appelées «émetteurs assujettis». Leurs titres sont généralement négociés en bourse, telle que la Bourse de Toronto. Ils sont appelés «émetteurs assujettis» car, entre autres choses:

  • ils doivent déposer un prospectus qui sera examiné et reçu (un prospectus préliminaire et final) par les commissions des valeurs mobilières compétentes; et
  • ils sont assujettis à un régime d’information continue qui les oblige à déposer divers documents publics, tels que des états financiers annuels et intérimaires, des circulaires d’information de la direction quant aux assemblées extraordinaires et générales ainsi que des rapports sur les changements importants.

L’investisseur peut trouver les informations publiquement disponibles sur un émetteur assujetti à l’aide d’un site Web géré par les autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières, appelé SEDAR, disponible à l’adresse suivante: https://www.sedar.com (SEDAR).

En revanche, un «émetteur privé» (c’est-à-dire un émetteur non assujetti) a généralement moins d’informations à fournir sur les activités de la société et ses titres ne sont pas négociés en bourse. Bien qu'un émetteur privé ne dépose pas de prospectus auprès d'une commission des valeurs mobilières, les émetteurs vendant des titres sous le couvert d’une dispense relative à la notice d'offre (la dispense relative à la notice d’offre) (dispense de l'obligation de prospectus en vertu de la loi sur des valeurs mobilières) doivent remplir le formulaire d'offre prescrit qui est déposé [mais non examiné ni accompagné d’un reçu] auprès d’une commission des valeurs mobilières. Toutefois, la commission des valeurs mobilières peut examiner et commenter une notice d’offre après son dépôt dans le cadre de son examen continu des documents de placement d’un émetteur privé.

Ce n'est que récemment que les notices d'offre offerte dans le cadre de la dispense de notice d’offre sont publiées sur SEDAR. Vous pouvez y rechercher ces documents ainsi que tout matériel de commercialisation associé à la notice d’offre.

Conclusion

Nous espérons que cette brève comparaison vous aidera à mieux comprendre certaines différences entre les marchés privé et public. Pinnacle est différent des courtiers en valeurs mobilières puisque nous nous concentrons principalement sur les placements au sein du marché privé. Cependant, nous avons des ententes de référence en vigueur auprès de certains gestionnaires de portefeuille qui peuvent vous fournir un accès aux titres du marché public. N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre représentant Pinnacle pour davantage de renseignements.